Van Alen Institute Announces New York Prize Fellows

Van Alen Institute Announces New York Prize Fellows

Van Alen Institute announced seven recipients of the 2008-2009 New York Prize.

Now in its second year, the New York Prize Fellowship was established to bring practitioners and scholars to Van Alen Institute's headquarters in New York City to pursue and present advanced independent projects on the most significant issues shaping the conception, design and use of public space today.

Internationally renowned artist and architect Maya Lin has been awarded the New York Prize Senior Fellowship. Appointed Senior Fellows are accomplished thinkers, artists and practitioners who have a demonstrated record of exceptional work and are identified as leaders in their fields. During her tenure as Senior Fellow, Lin will further develop Missing - a project she describes as her "last memorial" that will "focus attention on species and places that have gone extinct or will most likely disappear within our lifetime."

In addition to Lin, six New York Prize Resident Fellowships were selected through a competitive open application process. The following Resident Fellows will join the Institute for periods of three months each to generate independent projects and affiliated programs ranging from public performances and workshops to installations and films:

Irene Cheng and Brett Snyder of New York, NY
Project Title: Museum of the Phantom City

Elisa Fuksas and Alexander Josephson of Rome, Italy and Toronto, Canada
Project Title: Beijing Strain - SP6 L14

Nataly Gattegno and Jason K. Johnson of Charlottesville, VA
Project Title: Aurora

Denise Hoffman-Brandt of New York, NY
Project Title: CITY-SINK

Alexander Levi and Amanda Schachter of New York, NY
Project Title: Bronx River Crossing

Gabi Schillig of Berlin, Germany
Project Title: Beneath the Skin

Fellows were selected by a distinguished council of design practitioners, scholars and artists including Kadambari Baxi (imageMachine, Martin/Baxi Architects), Ann Hamilton (Artist), Thomas Keenan (Bard College), Enrique Norten (TEN Arquitectos), Joan Ockman (Temple Hoyne Buell Center for the Study of American Architecture), Chris Reed (StoSS Landscape Urbanism), and Sarah Whiting (WW Architecture).

"Members of the fellowship selection council were particularly impressed with the diversity represented in the proposed fellowship projects and with their capacity to address issues across disciplinary boundaries," recounted Institute director Adi Shamir. "Van Alen's New York Prize seeks to advance the fields of design by providing new platforms for practice and research - and the winning projects promise to chart new ground through their critical sets of inquiry and with compelling propositions for public architecture."

The council additionally awarded honorable mentions to Annie Barrett of Cambridge, MA; Eduardo Coutinho and Patricio da Silva of Peso de Regua, Portugal and Altadena, CA; and Stephanie Davidson and Georg Rafailidis of Berlin, Germany.

Detailed information about the fellows' projects will be featured on the Institute's New York Prize Fellowship website in Fall 2008, and a second annual fellowship dinner will be held in honor of all prize winners to date.

Van Alen Institute

  • 453,141 impressions, 55,644 clicks