2019 AIACC Awards Recipients Announced

2019 AIACC Awards Recipients Announced

The American Institute of Architects, California, has announced the two recipients of its 2019 AIACA Council Awards Program. The practice of architecture can sometimes be about creating a legacy-either in portfolio or firm culture or contribution to society within other categories. This Awards Program celebrates these attributes.

The Distinguished Practice Award

This year's Distinguished Practice Award was received by Anne Fougeron, FAIA. Over three decades of practice Fougeron has remained clear: architecture can change lives-both over time and in the moment-and every individual from every background deserves access to design's transformative potential.

This year's jury voted unanimously to move her submittal forward as the recipient.

The Firm Award

The 2019 Firm Award was received by HOK. HOK is a global design, architecture, engineering and planning firm which designs buildings and spaces that respond to the needs of people and the environment.

At their presentation to the AIACA Board of Directors, one speaker from the firm commented that "HOK is a diverse work culture that takes a kernel of a design idea into a built reality."

HOK regularly contributes talent and resources to the community, both through HOK IMPACT, its corporate social responsibility arm, and through grassroots initiatives. Engaging the wider world, the firm is developing, with Autodesk, North Face, Patagonia, and FEMA, two prototypes for disaster relief-a short-term shelter and a device for telephone, wireless, and emergency power.


  • Filed under Architecture
  • Last updated
  • 19,531 impressions, 900 clicks