2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards Shortlist

2010 Brit Insurance Design Awards Shortlist

The third annual Brit Insurance Design Awards has produced another eclectic and progressive range of nominees; from beautiful Hutong Bubbles in Beijing to the BBC iPlayer, the 2010 shortlist reflects the comprehensive and international scope of the awards.

Industry experts have nominated the world's most compelling and progressive designs across seven categories: Architecture, Fashion, Furniture, Graphics, Interactive, Product and Transport.

Antony Gormley will chair the high profile jury which includes designer Tom Dixon, editor of Icon magazine Justin McGuirk, graphic designer Morag Myerscough, style editor of Grazia Magazine Paula Reed and editor of Wired magazine David Rowan.

The shortlist will be on show at the Brit Insurance Designs of the Year Exhibition at the Design Museum from 17 February until 6 June.

From this comprehensive list, the jury will select the seven category winners to be announced on 4 March.

The finalists will then find out who will win the overall Brit Insurance Design of the Year 2010 at the Awards Dinner on 16 March.

"It's interesting to see how themes of sustainability and social responsibility have emerged in this year nominations, revealing both the importance of economical and social change in design over the last twelve months," commented Alex Newson, curator of the Brit Insurance Designs of the Year exhibition.

"It's a broad field and an exciting celebration of design."

Design Museum

  • Last updated
  • 50,835 impressions, 10,232 clicks