21st Annual DUSTYS Film and Animation Festival and Awards

21st Annual DUSTYS Film and Animation Festival and Awards

The 21st annual Dusty Film and Animation Festival and Awards will highlight over 100 films by students graduating from the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department at the School of Visual Arts (SVA). The program includes screenings of short films, videos and animations; and an awards ceremony and gala with notable presenters from the film industry. This year's Screenwriters Night is a proud collaboration with The Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre in which SVA graduating screenwriters will have selected scenes performed live by alumni from The Neighborhood Playhouse.

"We are thrilled to be marking 2010 and the 21st year of the Dustys-now recognized as one of the premiere student film festivals in the country-as we celebrate the many outstanding achievements of our emerging filmmakers and animators. It is always a delight to be showcasing and sharing their work with members of the entertainment industry, seeing the 'magic' made by the next generation of film and animation talent," said Reeves Lehmann, chair of the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department at SVA.

Over its two-decade history, the DUSTYS has introduced many graduates of the BFA Film, Video and Animation Department who have gone on to earn international recognition on the film scene. The recently announced Academy Award nominees include SVA alumnus Michael Giacchino (BFA 1990 Film and Video), with a nomination in the category of Music (Original Score) for his work on the Pixar animated film Up. SVA alumni have also been represented at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival, including Kevin Asch (BFA 1998 Film and Video), with Holy Rollers. In addition, Jake Armstrong (BFA 2009 Animation) recently won the Best Undergraduate Award at the Ottawa International Animation Festival for his short, The Terrible Thing of Alpha-9.

Each year, DUSTY film achievement awards are presented in the following categories: documentary, screenwriting, cinematography, sound, editing, directing and outstanding film. Animation achievement awards are presented for traditional, stop-motion, and outstanding design.

Past DUSTYS presenters have included SVA alumni, industry notables and award-winners such as Danny Aiello, Ellen Burstyn, Sean Combs, Wes Craven, Griffin Dunne, Harvey Keitel, Kevin Kline, David Koepp, Mira Nair, Bill Plympton, John Patrick Shanley, Bryan Singer, and Treat Williams.

School of Visual Arts

  • 1,687 impressions, 7,055 clicks