ADC Announces 90th Awards Jury Chairs

ADC Announces 90th Awards Jury Chairs

The Art Directors Club today announced the lineup of industry leaders who will serve as jury chairs for the ADC 90th Annual Awards programs, including a new overarching position of Annual Awards Chair.

Steve Simpson, chief creative officer, Ogilvy North America, was selected as ADC's first Annual Awards Chair, where he will oversee the Advertising, Design and Interactive juries and work with category chairs to ensure consistent standards and highest judging criteria.

Other changes for ADC's 90th year include the return of separate jury chairs for Illustration and Photography (last done with the 85th Annual Awards), and establishment of the new ADC Designism Award, exploring the responsibilities and experiences of creatives and designers to drive social and political change through their work.

Annual Awards chair
Steve Simpson, chief creative officer, Ogilvy North America, New York, NY, USA

Advertising chair
Paul Lavoie, chairman, co-founder, TAXI, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Interactive chair
Will McGinness, partner, creative director, Venables Bell & Partners, San Francisco, CA, USA

Hybrid chair
Wayne Best, formerly executive creative director, JWT, New York, NY, USA

Design chair
Michael Bierut, partner, Pentagram, New York, NY, USA

Illustration chair
Marian Bantjes, designer, artist, writer, Bowen Island, British Columbia, Canada

Photography chair
Kathy Ryan, director of photography, The New York Times Magazine, New York, NY, USA

ADC Awards Committee also announced the works selected in its ADC 90th Cube Project, where creatives worldwide were invited to submit their own interpretation of the ADC Cube image to be used on the ADC 90th Annual Awards call-for-entries and at a special exhibition at the ADC Gallery.

five ADC 90 CFE designs selected

The five ADC 90 CFE designs selected are:
Masashi Kawamura, creative director, Wieden+Kennedy, New York, NY, USA
Marc Cozza, creative director, CO Design Agents, Portland, OR, USA
Jeong Eun (Elle) Kim, freelance graphic designer, Seoul, Korea
Paul Davis, illustrator, New York, NT, USA
Rene Clement, art director, Paprika, Montreal, Ontario, Canada

The five selected designs will appear on printed ADC 90 CFEs sent to creatives worldwide, on the ADC Awards website and various awards promotional materials, onstage at the ADC 90th Annual Awards Gala next May in New York, and in the ADC 90th Annual.