Cooper Hewitt Unveils 20th Class of National Design Award Winners

Cooper Hewitt Unveils 20th Class of National Design Award Winners

Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum has just announced the 20th class of National Design Award winners. Established in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards bring national recognition to the ways in which design enriches everyday life, honoring design excellence and innovation in 11 categories.

"When the National Design Awards were first established in 2000, Cooper Hewitt's stated intent was 'to affirm that design excellence is alive in America' and celebrate how design affects people from all walks of life in everyday and extraordinary ways," said Caroline Baumann, director of Cooper Hewitt. "Twenty years later, the achievements of this year's class underscore not just the incredible prowess of American design today, but advance our understanding of the power of design to change the world. From MIT D-Lab's work to address the daily challenges of poverty through design to Open Style Lab's functional and stylish wearable solutions for people of all abilities, the 2019 winners join an impressive group of honorees who have made an indelible impact on society."

An interdisciplinary jury of design leaders and educators selected the winners after reviewing award submissions resulting from nominations solicited from design experts and enthusiasts. The Director's Award, to be announced at a later date, is chosen by Baumann and given to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding support and patronage within the design community.

This year's recipients are:
Susan Kare, Lifetime Achievement
Patricia Moore, Design Mind
MIT D-Lab, Corporate & Institutional Achievement
Thomas Phifer, Architecture Design
Tobias Frere-Jones, Communication Design
Derek Lam, Fashion Design
Ivan Poupyrev, Interaction Design
IwamotoScott Architecture, Interior Design
SCAPE Landscape Architecture, Landscape Architecture
Tinker Hatfield, Product Design
Open Style Lab, Emerging Designer

National Design Awards