Shortlist for Guy's and St.Thomas' Cancer Treatment Centre Competition

Shortlist for Guy's & St.Thomas' Cancer Treatment Centre Competition

The shortlisted teams for the next stage in the competition to design a new Cancer Treatment Centre for Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, are announced today. They are:

- Woods Bagot Ltd/BDP/Brookfield Construction (UK) Ltd
- Make Ltd/Mace Ltd/Buro Happold
- Anshen & Allen Associates Ltd/Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners/Laing O'Rourke Construction Ltd
- Allies and Morrison/Devereux Architects/Kier Regional Ltd
- Hopkins Architects Partnership LLP/Skanska Construction UK Ltd
- Grimshaw/Jonathan Bailey Associates/Bovis Lend Lease.

The competition seeks teams with the capacity and imagination to design, and deliver a "world class facility," and as such architects and contractors were required to collaborate from day one. The new building is expected to provide an outstanding working environment and patient experience that will be the first building in a phased development that will ultimately deliver an Integrated Cancer Centre, combining first class clinical care with groundbreaking research.

"Our patients deserve the highest standard of clinical care that focuses on the needs of the individual," said Alastair Gourlay, Programme Director for Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust. "I am delighted that our competition has attracted design consultants and contractors with global experience and the ability to deliver a quality building that will lift the spirits and help us to transform our service."

The next stage in the competition will invite teams to come up with design proposals, and will involve workshops and one-to-one briefing sessions with the client team, clinical staff, and end users of the building. The successful design will be the one that strikes a balance that considers cost, long term value and architecture, that will generate an outstanding vision and a team that will work with the client and other key stakeholders, to see it through to completion. An honorarium is being paid to each team, and a winner will be announced in September 2010, following an extensive consultation process.


  • 18,816 impressions, 27,573 clicks