The RIBA Awards £35,000 to Support Architectural Research

The RIBA Awards £35,000 to Support Architectural Research

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has revealed the winners of the RIBA Research Trust Awards and the RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship. The RIBA Research Trust Awards are offered annually to support independent architectural research. The RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship supports architecture students or recent graduates by providing an opportunity to undergo a period of imaginative and original research and travel.

RIBA Research Trust Awards Recipients

Mhairi McVicar & Neil Turnball, 'Practicing Engagement: the value of the architect in a Community Asset Transfer' - £10,000
Jorge Rodríguez Alvarez, 'A Case Study Handbook on Sustainable Housing Design. Feedback from London Residential Schemes' - £10,000
Urmi Sengupta, 'Language of disaster: exploring the altered architectural fabric of Durbar Square, Kathmandu' - £10,000

RIBA Boyd Auger Scholarship Recipients

Matthew Eberhard (Part 2 Architectural Assistant at Rick Mather Architects), Lucy Paton (Part II Architectural Assistant at Witherford Watson Mann Architects), Benedetta Rogers (Part 2 Architectural Assistant at Featherstone Young Architect), and Anthony Staples (Associate Architect at Jan Kattein Architects), 'Learning from Accra and the Global South.'

"It is always a pleasure to support innovative projects through the RIBA Research Trust Awards," commented Stephen Hodder, President of RIBA. "This year, there's a real potential to deliver considerable benefit and impact to the profession and wider society more generally. Furthermore, the fresh approach demonstrated by the RIBA Boyd Auger Scholars in bringing together architecture, sociology and anthropology will no doubt produce equally interesting results."


  • Filed under Architecture
  • Last updated
  • 75,486 impressions, 2,839 clicks