Five Architecture Institutes Commit to 'Five Principles' for the Future of the Profession

Five Architecture Institutes Commit to 'Five Principles' for the Future of the Profession

The five presidents of the UK based architecture institutes of England (RIBA), Scotland (RIAS), Wales (RSAW), Northern Ireland (RSUA) and the Republic of Ireland (RIAI) signed the Five Principles agreement to strengthen and safeguard the future of the profession. The principles have been agreed to bring greater consistency of focus across the nations, as their collective membership serve their clients and society.

"I am delighted to join forces with the five presidents of the UK and Eire to launch this statement," said Ben Derbyshire, President of the RIBA. "It signals our joint commitment to strengthen the position of architects in the market place and increase awareness of our unique value in society."

The Five Principles

Place the public interest and value to society at the heart of all they do - by promoting the highest ethical standards and ensuring codes of conduct are continually strengthened.

Be accountable and the Gold Standard - by protecting the public and maintaining the highest standards of architectural education.

Reflect the diversity of the population in their workforce - by adopting reforms and policies that promote diversity and inclusion within business practices.

Research, build and share essential knowledge - by developing and disseminating the body of knowledge embedded within the profession.

Lead the profession in the fight for a more sustainable built environment - by placing the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals as a key guiding principle in all they do.

Photo: Courtesy of RIBA

  • Filed under Architecture
  • Last updated
  • 14,028 impressions, 544 clicks