2011 Prince Philip Designers Prize Shortlist

2011 Prince Philip Designers Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2011 Prince Philip Designers Prize is revealed today, and encompasses one of the widest ranges of design disciplines in the Prize's history, from museums and galleries designers to millinery for Kylie Minogue, hydraulic ankles and illustrations for the Big Friendly Giant.

For the first time in a number of years, The 2011 Prize has a notable fashion flavor, with Sir Paul Smith and milliner Stephen Jones joining the line-up, whilst architecture is also well represented with internationally respected names such as Wilkinson Eyre and Sir David Chipperfield being nominated for their huge contribution, alongside giants of digital, sustainable and strategic design. Quentin Blake, one of Britain's best-loved children's illustrators and famed for the illustrations for the BFG and hundreds of other books, is also nominated.

The winner of the Prize, which recognises an outstanding contribution to UK business and society through design, will be announced at a ceremony at the Design Council on November 29.

The work of the nominees provides a snapshot of the creative and commercial strengths of the UK design industry.


Cecil Balmond

Cecil Balmond, winner of the Gretna Landmark on the England-Scotland border, and co-designer of The Orbit for London's 2012 Olympics, is hailed as one of the world's greatest structural engineers and designers

Quentin Blake CBE, RDI, FCSD, one of Britain's best-loved illustrators. His work in more than 300 books - many his own - is instantly recognisable.

Tim Brown

Tim Brown, the leading pioneer of 'design thinking' and the CEO of global design and innovation firm IDEO.

Dinah Casson

Dinah Casson RDI, FRCA, FCSD, one of the world's most respected environmental and exhibition designers.

Sir David Chipperfield, one of the UK's best-known and most distinguished architects.

Stephen Jones one of the UK foremost millers, who has transformed millinery since first opening a salon in 1980, and who has trained other leading designers including Philip Treacy and Noel Stewart.

Sir Paul Smith is arguably the most successful British fashion designer ever. Since opening his first shop in Nottingham in 1970 he has built an international business that has defined the way three generations of men - and latterly women - have dressed.

Shane Walter

Shane Walter, the co-founder of onedotzero, which since 1996 has been at the forefront of digital design and culture, reaching 5 cities around the world with a combination of festivals, public events and publishing projects, as well as an education programme for emerging talent.

Chris Wilkinson OBE and Jim Eyre OBE, co-founders of Wilkinson Eyre Architects, the first practice to win the Stirling Prize twice and the only one to win it two years in a row.

Saeed Zahedi

Saeed Zahedi, one of the leading designers of medical prosthetics. As Technical Director of Chas A Blatchford & Sons, he has been at the forefront of breakthroughs which have a huge impact on quality of life for many people including military personnel treated at the Defence Medical Rehabilitation Centre and the people of Haiti in the wake of the 2010 earthquake.

"The sheer breadth of talent in this year's line-up shows what a powerhouse of creativity we have in the UK," said David Kester, Chief Executive of the Design Council. "The stories and careers of these nominees all demonstrate that design and designers make the world a better place and create innovation, enterprise and economic growth."

Former winners of the Prize include Bill Moggridge (2010) who designed the world's first laptop, Thomas Heatherwick (2006); the architect Lord Foster of Thamesbank (2004); Habitat founder Sir Terence Conran (2003); Pentagram founder Kenneth Grange (2001) and inventor Sir James Dyson (1997).

Design Council